Books

12 Books to read if you loved Fine Line by Harry Styles

12 books to read if you liked Fine Line by Harry Styles

The world seems to love Harry Styles and after his eponymous album, Fine Line is another masterpiece you need to listen to. In the spirit of reading and loving music, here is a list of 12 books which represent the feel of the songs from the second album of the singer.

1. ‘GOLDEN’

MIDNIGHT SUN by Stephanie Meyer
Midnight Sun

Twilight told from the perspective of Edward Cullen, Midnight Sun is the story of unrequited love.

The book is darker than the Twilight series as Edward navigates his feelings while being aware of what he is.

Edward reveres and almost worships Bella and Midnight Sun makes for a great read-along to Golden.


2. ‘WATERMELON SUGAR’

SOMETHING TO TALK ABOUT by Meryl Wilsner
Something To Talk About

Harry Styles has hinted at the risque nature of this song and while Something To Talk About remains fairly innocent, its the perfect book for this song.

Jo, a former child actress and now showrunner and her assistant, Emma have their pictures misinterpreted. They try to deny their relationship in their own ways but soon find themselves falling for each other.

Besides being the cutest F/F romance, its also an excellent summer read.


3. ‘ADORE YOU’

ELEANOR & PARK – Rainbow Rowell
Eleanor & Park

Rainbow Rowell writes some of the best YA romances and at the core of Eleanor & Park is music.

Eleanor is a girl who stands out without trying to and Park is the exact opposite. With the help of music, they begin to get closer.

Eleanor & Park is all about the excitement of a new relationship and butterflies.


4. ‘LIGHTS UP’

THE COLOR PURPLE by Alice Walker
The Color Purple

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, The Color Purple is the story of the journeys of young African American women to self love and affirmation.

Sisters Celie and Nettie, rise above their difficulties in this classic as they struggle through domestic and sexual abuse.

Considered one of the most important pieces of feminist literature, The Color Purple is perfect for the self love message of Lights Up.


5. ‘CHERRY’

NORMAL PEOPLE by Sally Rooney
Normal People

One of the most popular books of 2019 and 2020 and now a successful show, the story follows Connell and Marianne, through school and college.

Connell and Marianne come from two different classes and start a relationship which ends because of their perceived differences.

College, however, turns the tables, where Connell and Marianne seems to find each other everywhere but can never reconcile.


6. ‘FALLING’

ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE by Gail Honeyman
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Eleanor Oliphant learns to pick herself up in this story of loneliness and depression.

Much like how the singer described the song, Eleanor does not know that she can feel better. Caught in the cycle of melancholy, she slowly begins to get better.

The story is a true and harrowing look into depression but is also full of hope and that it all will get better.


7. ‘TO BE SO LONELY’

THE AGE OF INNOCENCE by Edith Wharton
The Age of Innocence

This well known classic is follows Newland Archer, one of the most famous shameless philanderer in literature.

About to be married, Archer falls in love with the mysterious and beautiful Ellen Olenska and what follows is vaguely reminiscent of Anna Karenina.

To Be So Lonely hints at making mistakes in a relationship and no other book could be a better example of it.


8. ‘SHE’

MIDDLESEX – Jeffrey Eugenides
Middlesex

There is much speculation as to what this song is about, but Middlesex fits right into it.

One of the most popular LGBT literary fictions of all time, the book follows the Stephanides family through generations.

The main focus of the book is Calliope Stephanides and is commentary on the American Dream and gender identity.


9. ‘SUNFLOWER VOL. 6’

THE GREAT GATSBY by F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Great Gatsby

Considered as the finest literary example oft he Jazz Age, The Great Gatsby does not need an introduction.

Narrated by Nick Carraway, the book looks into the mysterious life of Jay Gatsby and his lavish parties, thrown in the hope of meeting his once lover, Daisy Buchanan.

The story has the ambiance of sunlit parties and jazz ensemble and the book is all of it.


10. ‘CANYON MOON’

A SPOOL OF BLUE THREAD by Anne Tyler
A Spool of Blue Thread

Anne Tyler is known for writing the most beautiful family stories of togetherness and their peculiarities.

A Spool of Blue Thread follows the many generations of the Whitshanks in 1959 and the trials and tribulations of each of the family members.

The book goes well with the long relationship theme of the song and makes a really funny read.


11. ‘TREAT PEOPLE WITH KINDNESS’

THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP by Nina George
The Little Paris Bookshop

The Little Paris Bookshop will leave you happy, crying, hopeful and everything in between.

This a book about kindness and helping others.

Monsieur Perdu helps hundreds of people with his love for books and can treat anything. He considers himself a literary apothecary but can not seem to fix himself.

If you love the singer’s perpetual message, you must read this book.


12. ‘FINE LINE’

LOVE IN THE TIME OF CHOLERA by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Love in the Time of Cholera

The story of mad love by a master of literature, Love in the Time of Cholera is about Fine Line.

Florentino and Fermina are young and in love. However, when Fermina marries a wealthy doctor, Florentino gives into a life of affairs while becoming someone he thinks Fermina wants.

Fifty years later, hearing the new of Fermina’s husband’s death, Florentino returns to once again declare his love to his childhood sweetheart.


All of these books have the Fine Line vibe and I hope the album inspires you to pick up one of these works. If you have any more suggestions to add, leave a comment down below.

(1) Comment

  1. […] Related Post – 12 books to read if you loved Fine Line by Harry Styles […]

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: